IL APCO Awards

2023 Illinois APCO Awards 


The awards recognize individuals who perform in an outstanding manner throughout the year.
For this year’s awards, we are looking for accomplishments that took place from January 1st of 2022 through April 30th of 2023. In future years, we will be reviewing accomplishments from May 1st through April 30th of the following year.”

Illinois APCO will present awards in the following categories:
  • Communications Director / Manager of the Year
  • Line Supervisor of the Year
  • Technician of the Year
  • Telecommunicator of the Year
  • Trainer of the Year


Award winners will receive free registration and lodging for the 2023 Illinois Public Safety Telecommunications Association Conference in Springfield, October 22nd - 25th, 2023. The deadline for submissions are July 31st, 2023. Winners will be contacted prior to September 16, 2023.


The Illinois APCO Awards Committee is in need of your assistance to find those working among us who are deserving of a nomination for this year's awards. These employees and peers need not be APCO members to receive an award. Nominations may be submitted by supervisors, peers, or co-workers.

Nominations should not be based upon the nominee's handling of a single incident. The award is meant to honor the best of the best - the personnel who peers would consider to be the leaders based on many aspects. See the Award Criteria page for details about requirements.

For more information, contact Kevin Diluia at (847) 590-3438.

Submit a Nomination

The nomination(s) shall be no longer than three typewritten pages (not including copies of other accommodations, press clippings, etc.) The cover sheet of the nomination form should include the following information:
  • Name of the nominee
  • Job position
  • Agency's name
  • Agency's address
  • Nominator's name
  • Nominator's position
  • Nominator's telephone number

Review Award Criteria Here

Completed nominations can be faxed to (847) 398-2498, emailed to Operations Manager Kevin Diluia, or mailed to:
Kevin Diluia, Deputy Director - Operations
Northwest Central Dispatch
1975 E. Davis St.
Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Mike McBride, IL APCO 2022 Technician of the year

Pictured from left to right: Illinois APCO's President Brent Reynolds, 2022 Technician of the Year Mike McDonald, APCO International President Angela Batey.